The art deco “Mercantile” building was previously called the Phelps Dodge Mercantile Co., is located in downtown in Bisbee, AZ.
The architecture of the 1906 Bisbee Post Office and Library building is quite unique. Many of the other stately buildings along Main Street have been repurposed.
The Campbell Mine headframe viewed from Highway 92 near Lowell and Warren, AZ, south of Bisbee. Its ore body, discovered in 1929, was large and high grade (over 1 million tons, 8-10% copper).
A close-up view of the Campbell Mine headframe. The mine was initially owned by the Calumet and Arizona Mining Co. which merged with Phelps Dodge in 1931.
Not much is left of Erie Street in Lowell, AZ, a suburb southeast of Bisbee. At one time it was home to 6,000 residents but most of Lowell was consumed by the expansion of the Lavender Pit.
The Dallas Mine headframe is in the far distance when viewed from Highway 92.
This small headframe and mine cage are on display at the Copper Queen Mine.
The Cole Mine headframe is in the distance and partially obscured by mine dumps when viewed from Highway 92. It was developed by the Lake Superior and Pittsburgh Development Co.