1999Mining History Association Field Trip

 

Red Mountain Mining District and Silverton, Colorado

June 6, 1999

Host: Duane Smith

 

PHOTO GALLERY 3

CLICK ON A PHOTO TO DISPLAY A LARGER IMAGE

 

The Old Hundred Mine Tour (after hours) takes visitors underground through the lower adit at the left in Cunningham Gulch.

 

Old Hundred Mine buildings (center).  The restored ca. 1903 boarding house is located just below the summit at 12,000 feet.

The Mayflower Mill is just as the miners left it.  It was built in1929 to serve the Shenandoah-Dives Mine.  Before it closed in the 1991, it served the Sunnyside Mine in the hills behind the mill.

 

At the tramway station of the Mayflower Mill the ore from the mine starts the process to recover its riches.

 

Follow the direction of the cables of the Mayflower Tramway up Arrastra Gulch to the Shenandoah-Dives Mine located just below the farthest distant ridge at 11,200 feet

 

The tramway buckets not only brought ore down from the mine but also provided transportation up and down for the miners.

(Above)  MHAers explore the recesses of the Mayflower Mill. The flotation cells (Left) recovered the various concentrates containing lead, zinc, copper, silver, and gold.

 

 

 

(Right)  The ruins of the 1906 Silver Lake Mill are located along the Animas River just outside Silverton.  It received ore by tramway from the Silver Lake and Unity Mines in Arrastra Basin.


Photo Credits: Mike Kaas


CLICK HERE TO RETURN TO THE OURAY MEETING PAGE

 


All contents copyright 2011. This is a ZStudios website.