History of the Franklin-Sterling Hill, New Jersey Mining Area
The over 200 year history of mining in Franklin and Sterling Hill (Ogdensburg), New Jersey and the unique geology and mineralogy of the ore deposits has been well documented in numerous books (e.g. Dunn, 1995; Pappa, 2004) and in the mining technical literature (e.g. Baum, et al, 1953; Haight and Tillson, 1917; Palache, 1937).
When the New Jersey Zinc Company closed the Franklin Mine in 1954, the company President, R. L. McCann, published “The Story of the Franklin Mine,” in the company magazine, Zinc.
READINGS AND REFERENCES
J. L. Baum, C. M. Haight, Warren Hastings, and J. S. Pellett, “New Jersey Zinc Franklin-Sterling Operations,” Mining Engineering, December 1953, (New York: AIME, 1953) 1208-1213.
Pete J. Dunn, “Franklin and Sterling Hill, New Jersey: The World’s Most Magnificent Mineral Deposits,” (Franklin: Franklin-Ogdensburg Mineralogical Society, 1995).
Clarence M. Haight and B. F. Tillson, “Zinc Mining at Franklin,” AIME Transactions, (New York: AIME, 1917), 720-825.
Carrie Pappa, “A Mile Deep and Black as Pitch: An Oral History of the Franklin and Sterling Hill Mines,” (Granville, OH: McDonald and Woodward, 2004).
Charles Palache, “The Minerals of Franklin and Sterling Hill, Sussex County, New Jersey,” U. S. Geological Survey, Professional Paper 180, (Washington: Government Printing Office, 1937).
CLICK HERE TO RETURN TO THE SCRANTON MEETING PAGE