Mining History Association


The Mining History Association (MHA) Research Grant Program is open to all who are currently engaged in or who plan to conduct mining history research, including graduate students, academic scholars, public sector professionals in related disciplines, independent scholars, writers, and educators. Research may focus on technology, business, social and cultural life, the environment, or any other aspect of mining, its associated industries, and its communities. It may concentrate on any era or geographical location. The MHA does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, age, national origin, sexual orientation or disability.

Funds are awarded on a competitive basis. The Grants Committee, at its discretion, may make up to four grants per year. Funding may vary, up to a maximum of $1000 per grant. The amount of each award will be determined by the Grants Committee on the basis of available funding, the grant criteria as indicated below, and on individual budget priorities. Announcement of the winner(s) will be made by early June of 2023, so that funds may be used in preparation for the MHA Annual Conference in the year following the award (June 2024).

Criteria for selection include the following:

1. Clarity of the stated objectives and procedures.
2. Quality of the work anticipated and the likelihood that the proposed project will be successfully completed within one year from the time the grant money becomes available.
3. Significance of the research topic to mining history.
4. How specific, realistic, and conservative the budget is.
5. Plans for disseminating the results of the research. Agree to prepare, within one year following a grant award, either a presentation for consideration by the Program Committee at the MHA Annual Conference, or an article to be reviewed in consideration for publication by The Mining History Journal. Some awardees may choose to do both. If an awardee chooses to come to the conference, both the basic registration fee and an award’s banquet ticket will additionally be provided for free to that conference.

To be eligible for funding, applicants must submit the following before midnight on May 1, 2023 to

1. One complete Application Form (Download as an MS-Word file) or (Download the application form as a PDF file).
2. A resumé/vita with personal information relevant to the proposal.

Thanks for your application.
The MHA Grants Committee: Brian Leech (Chair), Eric Nystrom, Mica Jorgenson

CLICK HERE for a list of MHA Grant Recipients

All contents copyright 2011. This is a ZStudios website.