Mining History Association Annual Conferences

The Mining History Association holds an annual conference in a historic mining area.  Attendees typically come from across the USA and from several foreign countries.  Many extend their trip to visit other scenic, historic, and recreational areas.  Each meeting includes program sessions with presentations on a variety of mining history-related topics.  Field trips and tours are taken of historic and active mining operations.  Social events at the meetings include a Welcoming Reception, Presidentís Luncheon, and Awards Banquet.  There is plenty of time for attendees to get or stay acquainted, compare notes, and share their own interests in mining history.

Use the drop-down menu list on the Meetings tab above to learn more about our recent annual conferences and field trips.  Web pages for additional conferences are being added.  Check back often to see whatís new.

Historic First National Mine headframe in the foreground with the modern Black Cloud Mine in the rear, Leadville, CO. (Photo by Mike Kaas)


2023 Socorro, New Mexico

 2022 Birmingham, AL

2021 Elko, NV

2020 Elko, NV (Postponed)

2019 Marquette, MI

2018 Deadwood, SD

2017 Fairbanks, Alaska

2016 Telluride, Colorado

2015 Virginia City, Nevada - MHA 25th Anniversary Conference

2014  Trinidad, Colorado

2013  Galena, Illinois

2012  Prescott, Arizona

2011  Dillon, Montana

2010  Silver City, New Mexico

2009  Creede, Colorado

2008  Mesabi Iron Range, Chisholm, Minnesota

2007  Leadville, Colorado

2006  Globe and Morenci, Arizona

2005  Scranton, Pennsylvania and Franklin, New Jersey

2004  Missouri Lead Belt, Farmington, Missouri

2003  Cripple Creek and Victor, Colorado

2002  Silver Valley, Wallace, Idaho

2001  Butte, Montana

2000  Tonopah, Nevada

1999  Ouray and Silverton, Colorado

1998  Bisbee, Arizona

1997  Michigan Copper Country, Houghton, Michigan

1996  Rossland, British Columbia

1995  Nevada City, California

1994 Golden, Colorado

1993  Black Hills, Lead, South Dakota - Also see 2018 Deadwood Conference

1992 Boise, Idaho

1991  Leadville, Colorado - See 2007 Leadville Conference

1990 Virginia City, Nevada - See 2015 Virginia City Conference


All contents copyright 2011. This is a ZStudios website.